
Founder of GTA Accounting Group, Sohail helps businesses grow with expert tax strategies and financial planning.

For payments made in 2026, you file a 1099-NEC or 1099-MISC only at $2,000, not $600. What did not change, how to issue one, and the 2027 deadlines.
For most payments made in 2026, a business generally must file Form 1099-NEC or Form 1099-MISC once it has paid a payee $2,000 or more during the year. Before 2026 the threshold was $600. The forms that cover 2026 payments are due in early 2027, and a few kinds of payment still use a lower threshold.
The IRS puts the change in three sentences: "For payments made before 2026, the reporting threshold is $600. For payments made in 2026, the reporting threshold is $2,000. For payments made after 2026, see Pub. 1099 for the inflation-adjusted reporting threshold."
| Payment | Paid in 2025 | Paid in 2026 | Form and box |
|---|---|---|---|
| Services by a non-employee (contractors, freelancers) | $600 | $2,000 | 1099-NEC, box 1a |
| Attorneys' fees for legal services | $600 | $2,000 | 1099-NEC, box 1a |
| Rents | $600 | $2,000 | 1099-MISC, box 1 |
| Prizes and awards; other income | $600 | $2,000 | 1099-MISC, box 3 |
| Medical and health care payments | $600 | $2,000 | 1099-MISC, box 6 |
| Gross proceeds paid to an attorney | $600 | $600, unchanged | 1099-MISC, box 10 |
| Royalties | $10 | $10, unchanged | 1099-MISC, box 2 |
| Any payee you backup-withheld from | Any amount | Any amount | 1099-NEC or 1099-MISC, box 4 |
| Payments made by card or through a third-party payment network | Not on your 1099 | Not on your 1099 | Left off 1099-NEC and 1099-MISC; any Form 1099-K is the processor's, under separate rules |
The new figure applies to payments made in 2026, not to forms filed in 2026. The 1099s businesses sent out in January 2026 covered 2025 payments, so they still used $600. The first forms filed under the $2,000 rule are the ones due in early 2027.
The $2,000 threshold may be adjusted for inflation beginning in calendar year 2027, according to the IRS instructions. The same change applies to backup withholding: the instructions describe the new minimum as the threshold "for reporting certain payments required to be reported on certain information returns and/or perform backup withholding on those payments."
Three things did not move.
Gross proceeds paid to an attorney stay at $600. These are payments to an attorney that are not for the attorney's own services. The IRS gives a settlement as the example. The instructions require Form 1099-MISC for "At least $600 in gross proceeds paid to an attorney (box 10)," covering payments made "in connection with legal services, but not for the attorney’s services, for example, as in a settlement agreement." Fees for the attorney's own work are different. They follow the new $2,000 threshold and go on Form 1099-NEC.
Royalties stay at $10. The 1099-MISC rule still reads "At least $10 in royalties."
Backup withholding still means a form, whatever the amount. The 1099-NEC instructions say: "You must also file Form 1099-NEC for each person from whom you have withheld any federal income tax (report in box 4) under the backup withholding rules regardless of the amount of the payment." The 1099-MISC instructions carry the same sentence.
Form 1099-K runs on its own rules. The One, Big, Beautiful Bill restored the older 1099-K threshold retroactively, and the IRS confirmed that "third party settlement organizations are not required to file Forms 1099-K unless the gross amount of reportable payment transactions to a payee exceeds $20,000 and the number of transactions exceeds 200." Both conditions must be met.
The rule covers payments your business makes, not personal ones. The instructions require Form 1099-NEC "for each person in the course of your business during the year to whom you have paid at least $2,000" for services by a non-employee or for payments to an attorney. Paying a plumber to fix your own home does not count. Paying a plumber to fix your shop or office does.
The usual payees are individuals, sole proprietors, partnerships, and LLCs that are not taxed as corporations. If you aren't sure whether someone is a contractor or an employee, settle that first. Our guide to 1099 vs W-2 classification covers it.
It depends on how the LLC is taxed, and the Form W-9 tells you. Line 3a asks the payee to "Check the appropriate box for federal tax classification of the entity/individual whose name is entered on line 1." An LLC checks the "LLC" box and enters "the appropriate code (C, S, or P) for the tax classification of the LLC, unless it is a disregarded entity. A disregarded entity should instead check the appropriate box for the tax classification of its owner."
In practice:
Most payments to a corporation are not reported. The instructions list among payments not reported: "Generally, payments to a corporation (including a limited liability company (LLC) that is treated as a C or S corporation)."
The exceptions most businesses run into are legal and medical, and the instructions spell each one out:
The IRS's full list of payments to corporations that must generally still be reported has six items. On Form 1099-MISC: medical and health care payments, gross proceeds paid to an attorney, substitute payments in lieu of dividends or tax-exempt interest, and cash payments for fish bought for resale. On Form 1099-NEC: attorneys' fees, and payments by a federal executive agency for services. Accounting, bookkeeping, consulting and IT services paid to a corporation are not on that list. If your question is specifically about S corporations, our guide on whether S corps receive 1099 forms covers it.
Then you leave that payment off your 1099-NEC or 1099-MISC. The IRS instructions say: "Payments made with a credit card or payment card and certain other types of payments, including third-party network transactions, must be reported on Form 1099-K by the payment settlement entity under section 6050W and are not subject to reporting on Form 1099-MISC or Form 1099-NEC."
That sentence covers two separate obligations, and only the first is yours:
Track how you paid each contractor during the year. A contractor you paid $3,000 by check and $1,500 by card has $3,000 that counts toward your 1099-NEC, not $4,500.
Forms 1099-NEC and 1099-MISC have new boxes for cash tips and qualified overtime compensation. "P.L. 119-21, section 70201, requires the reporting of cash tips. These new boxes were added to facilitate this reporting requirement for Forms 1099-NEC and 1099-MISC." Likewise, "P.L. 119-21, Section 70202(a), requires the reporting of overtime compensation."
| Form | Cash tips | Treasury Tipped Occupation Code (TTOC) | Qualified overtime compensation |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1099-NEC | Box 1b | Box 1c | Box 1d |
| 1099-MISC | Box 13a | Box 13b | Box 14 |
Each box reports a specific part of the payment, not the payee's whole pay:
Most businesses that pay professional contractors will leave these boxes empty. They apply only when an amount you report includes cash tips or qualified overtime compensation.
The IRS rule is: "Section 6071(c) requires you to file Form 1099-NEC on or before January 31, using either paper or electronic filing procedures. File Form 1099-MISC by February 28, if you file on paper, or March 31, if you file electronically. If any date shown falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday in the District of Columbia or where the return is to be filed, the due date is the next business day." Payees must receive their copies by January 31. For Form 1099-MISC with amounts in box 8 or box 10, the payee deadline is February 15.
In 2027, several of those dates land on a weekend or a holiday.
| Form | To the IRS | To the payee |
|---|---|---|
| 1099-NEC | January 31 is a Sunday, so Monday, February 1, 2027 | Monday, February 1, 2027 |
| 1099-MISC | Paper: February 28 is a Sunday, so Monday, March 1, 2027. Electronic: Wednesday, March 31, 2027 | Monday, February 1, 2027; with box 8 or 10: February 15 is Presidents' Day, so Tuesday, February 16, 2027 |
| New Jersey copies | February 15 is a holiday, so Tuesday, February 16, 2027 | — |
In 2027, January 31 and February 28 fall on Sundays, and February 15 is Washington's Birthday, a federal holiday on OPM's 2027 schedule. New Jersey's Treasury lists the same date, Presidents' Day, February 15, 2027, as a holiday.
Not automatically. Each state sets its own reporting rules, and two of the three have not moved.
New Jersey. New Jersey's employer withholding guide (NJ-WT, September 2025) says: "You must provide New Jersey with copies of 1099 information returns when the amount paid or credited is $1,000 or more in a calendar year or if any New Jersey Income Tax was withheld from the payment." It also says: "You must file Form 1099 information returns on or before February 15 of the following year. If February 15 falls on a weekend or holiday, the due date is the next business day." So a New Jersey business that paid a contractor between $1,000 and $1,999 in 2026 may owe New Jersey a 1099 even though no federal form is required. New Jersey's guide, last revised in September 2025, does not mention the new federal threshold, so check it again before filing.
California. California's reporting runs through the Employment Development Department and happens during the year, not at year-end. EDD says you must report an independent contractor "if you pay compensation or enter into a contract with an independent contractor and the following statements all apply: You are required to file a federal Nonemployee Compensation (Form 1099-NEC) or a Miscellaneous Information (Form 1099-MISC) for the services performed by the independent contractor. You pay the independent contractor $600 or more, or enter into a contract for $600 or more. The independent contractor is an individual, sole proprietor, or single-member LLC." The report is due "within 20 calendar days." EDD's current employer guide, DE 44 (Rev. 52, 4-26), also uses $600. None of these EDD sources addresses the federal $2,000 change.
New York. New York's rule is about new-hire reporting, not 1099s. The Department of Taxation and Finance says: "Please be aware that effective January 1, 2022, employers are required to report individuals under an independent contractor arrangement with contracts in excess of $2,500."
Illustration only, not a client case.
A design studio, an LLC taxed as a partnership, makes these business payments in 2026:
| Payee | Paid in 2026 | Federal 1099? |
|---|---|---|
| Freelance photographer, sole proprietor, paid by check | $1,500 | No. Under $2,000 |
| Web developer, single-member LLC with "Individual/sole proprietor" checked, paid by check | $4,800 | Yes. 1099-NEC, box 1a |
| Copywriter paid by business credit card | $3,200 | No. Card payments are excluded from the studio's 1099-NEC; any 1099-K is the processor's to file |
| IT support firm, S corporation | $6,000 | No. Payments to corporations are generally not reported |
| Law firm (a professional corporation) for contract review | $2,500 | Yes. 1099-NEC, box 1a; attorneys' fees are reported even to corporations |
If the studio is in New Jersey, the photographer's $1,500 is the payment to check against New Jersey's $1,000 rule. If it is in California, check each payee against EDD's DE 542 rule above, which runs on a 20-day clock, not a year-end one.
1. How much can I pay a contractor without a 1099 in 2026?
Under $2,000 in total for the year, as long as you did not backup-withhold from them and the payment is not one of the lower-threshold types: attorney gross proceeds at $600, or royalties at $10. State rules can be lower. New Jersey's is $1,000; see the state section above.
2. Is $600 still the limit for 1099s?
Only for payments made in 2025 and earlier, and for gross proceeds paid to an attorney. For most payments made in 2026, the threshold is $2,000.
3. How much can you make in 2026 and not get a 1099?
A payer is not required to send you a 1099-NEC if it paid you less than $2,000 during 2026. The income is still taxable and belongs on your return.
4. Does the $20,000 Form 1099-K threshold apply to 1099-NEC and 1099-MISC?
No. The $20,000 figure applies only to Form 1099-K. A third party settlement organization does not have to file a Form 1099-K for a payee unless the payee's payments exceed $20,000 and the number of transactions exceeds 200. Forms 1099-NEC and 1099-MISC, which a business files for its own payees, have their own threshold: $2,000 for most payments made in 2026. Neither threshold changes what is taxable. Income is reportable whether or not a form is filed.
5. How can I issue a 1099 to someone?
Collect a Form W-9, total what you paid them for the year, and file Form 1099-NEC or 1099-MISC with the IRS. Then give them their copy by the deadline. If you file 10 or more information returns in total, you must e-file.
6. Can I make a 1099 on my own?
Yes. The IRS's IRIS portal lets businesses e-file information returns and "is a free service." If you file on paper, Copy A must be the official scannable form. The IRS states that "you cannot file Form 1096 or Copy A of Forms … 1099 … that you print from the IRS website," though you can use a printed Copy B for the recipient.
7. What is required to issue a 1099?
The payee's legal name, address, taxpayer identification number and tax classification, all from their Form W-9. You also need the total paid in the year and the correct box for each type of payment.
8. Do I need to send a 1099 to an S corporation?
Generally no, because payments to corporations are usually not reported. The exceptions are attorneys' fees, attorney gross proceeds, and medical and health care payments. Our guide on whether S corps receive 1099 forms goes through the details.
The first $2,000 year is when vendor lists get cleaned up. That means collecting W-9s, sorting card payments from check payments, and catching the New Jersey and California rules before they become notices. GTA Accounting Group prepares and files year-end 1099s as part of its New Jersey payroll services, New York payroll services and California payroll services, and reviews vendor 1099 compliance through its accounts payable management services.
This article is general information, not tax advice for your specific situation. Confirm current figures against IRS/state guidance or speak with a licensed professional.
Every rule stated traces to one of the following. All were read at source on October 8, 2026.
Experience the difference with our tailored accounting solutions. Let's transform your financial landscape together. Get in touch for a consultation!
Get in touch
At GTA Accounting Group, we value proactive clients — which is why when you book an appointment, you'll also receive an exclusive offer designed to help you save more, plan better, and make confident financial decisions.
Simply fill out the form, and our team will reach out to confirm your appointment and deliver your award. It only takes 30 seconds and gets you one step closer to expert support.
Use the form below to